Skip to content ↓

Barfield School

An Independent Preparatory School for Girls and Boys

Staff - The Barfield Family

“We are thrilled with how much our son has developed over the term and how well the staff know the children.” Parent

Barfield School is very proud of the unique partnership that exists between staff, children and parents and we consider ourselves to be fortunate in having dedicated, enthusiastic, loyal and well-qualified teachers in both the Pre-Prep and Prep.

Mr Andrew Boyle is Headmaster of the school with Miss Cathy Anderson as Deputy Head. They work closely with the Senior Management Team to ensure the smooth and effective running of the school.

In the Pre-Prep, class teachers are carefully chosen to provide academic, social and emotional support to the children. In the Prep, form tutors and heads of year provide pastoral support and academic matters are monitored by the subject teachers and heads of department.

Senior Management Team 

Headmaster - Mr Andrew Boyle

Qualification - BA (Hons) GTP

  andy.boyle@barfieldschool.com

 


Deputy Head - Miss Cathy Anderson

Qualification - BA (Hons) PGCE

  cathy.anderson@barfieldschool.com

Miss Anderson is also Head of PSHE.


Senior Master - Mr James Reid

Qualification - BEd (Hons)

  james.reid@barfieldschool.com

James joined the Barfield family in 1994 as Director of Studies, and since then has held the positions of Deputy Head, Acting Headmaster and then Headmaster between 2014 and 2019, before settling into his current role as Senior Master.  Throughout all of these job roles, James has always been Head of Mathematics, and has enjoyed spending some of his time as a Team Inspector for ISI.  Before joining Barfield James attended Charterhouse, Goldsmiths' College and the University of London before starting his teaching career at St. Andrews School.  Outside of Barfield, James enjoys horse-racing, where he is an annual member at five different venues.  He has a love of cricket and professional cycling, especially Le Tour De France.  James is a member of the Queen's English Society, and enjoys keeping up-to-date with current affairs, particularly the political landscape.


Head of Pre-Prep - Mrs Helen Brown

Qualification - BA (Hons) Primary Ed

 helen.brown@barfieldschool.com


Director of Studies - Mrs Christina Tupper

Qualification - BA (Hons) PGCE

  christina.tupper@barfieldschool.com

Christina joined the Barfield family in 2010.  During her time she has taught Science, Girls' Games, VR, ICT and Maths.  She has been a Form Tutor for a number of years, along with being Head of ICT and Science.  Christina was promoted to Director of Studies in 2017, and has retained the Head of Science alongside this position.  Before joining Barfield, Christina was a professional golfer playing on the European Ladies Tour.  She was the Manager at a prestigious Golf Club in the South East of England, which involved the day to day running of the business.  Along with working at Barfield, Christina occasionally works for the University of Chichester mentoring trainees in teaching Science in secondary schools, along with marking postgraduate scripts.  Outside of Barfield, Christina enjoys exercising and reading, and is hoping to restart golf again in the near future.


HR, Head's PA & Admin. Manager - Mrs Sarah Grantham

Qualification - BSc (Hons)

  sarah.grantham@barfieldschool.com

Sarah joined the Barfield family in 2013, as an HR & Administration Manager.  Her role has increased over the years, with the most recent addition being PA to the Headmaster.  Before joining Barfield Sarah attended Kent University studying Business Computing, and now has over 16 years experience in HR.  Sarah worked at Sainsburys in the HR department, a Store Trainer and some time as a Store Manager.  Prior to this she spent eight years as a Store Manager at a large Golf Complex in Surrey.  Before these roles, Sarah worked as a Flight Dispatcher at Heathrow Airport which enabled her to travel the world, which she greatly enjoyed.  Outside of Barfield, Sarah enjoys spending time with her two children, playing tennis and golf if and when the opportunity arises.  She helps at her sons Cub Scouts and has an active part in her daughters tennis club.

Heads Of Department 

Head of Art - Mrs Ali Lester

Qualification - BEd (Hons)

   ali.lester@barfieldschool.com

 


Head of Boys' Games - Mr Ray Taylor

Qualification - AIST

 ray.taylor@barfieldschool.com

Ray joined the Barfield family in 1989, and although he is currently Head of Boys' Games, he has undertaken a number of other roles including Housemaster and Form Tutor to a number of year groups in the Prep School.  Ray was the founder of Barfield Three Peaks, where he still works helping at weekends and on holiday camps as  a Senior Instructor.  Ray is a current member of the Barfield Friends committee and assists them with regular events.  Before joining Barfield, Ray served in the British Army for 11 years as a Radio and Data Telegraphist.  During this time he trained as a Physical Training Instructor and gained his Cross Swords.  Ray loves nothing more that seeing Barfield pupils grow in confidence and develop new skills, but when he is not at school, he enjoys walking his dog and spending time with the family.


Director of Technology - Mr Steve Hollands

Qualification - BSc (Hons), DipDesInn, PGCE

 steve.hollands@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Head of English - Mrs Lynn Pryce

Qualification - BEd (Hons)

 lynn.pryce@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Head of Languages - Mr John Milne

Qualification - MA

 john.milne@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Head of Girls' Games - Mrs Jenny Henman

Qualification - BA (Hons), iPGCE

 jenny.henman@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Head of Humanities - Miss Elizabeth Trevett

Qualification - BSc (Hons), PGCE

 elizabeth.trevett@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Head of ICT - Mrs Victoria Long

Qualification - BA (Hons), PGCE

 victoria.long@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Head of Learning Support - Dr Grace Elliott

Qualification - MA (SpLD)

 grace.elliott@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Head of Music - Ms Melissa Lynch

Qualification - BA MusEd

 melissa.lynch@barfieldschool.com

Melissa joined the Barfield family in 2013 as the Director of Music.  Prior to joining Barfield, she had been teaching music for over 30 years.  Melissa teaches the violin and music classes at all levels from Nursery children to adults.  Outside of school, Melissa love of music continues as she plays and sings in two bands, who perform regularly.  She also enjoys spending time in her garden, participating in yoga classes and swimming regularly.  Her biggest passion is spending as much time as possible with her granddaughter.


Nursery Manager - Mrs Jo King

Qualification - NNEB

 joanne.king@barfieldschool.com

Jo joined the Barfield family in 2003, working as a Teaching Assistant in Reception and Year 1, before becoming an assistant in the Nursery in 2006.  Jo progressed to Deputy Nursery Manager before being promoted in 2018 to her current position as Nursery Manager.  Before joining Barfield, Jo worked as a Nanny.  Outside of Barfield Jo likes nothing more than being a football mum to her two boys, taking the family dog for walks, going on family bike rides and relaxing with painting by numbers or a good book.

Teaching Staff

Owls A Room Lead - Mrs Shirley Aldworth

Qualification - Level 4

 shirley.aldworth@barfieldschool.com

Shirley joined the Barfield family in 2018, as the Room Leader in Owls A.  Prior to joining Barfield, Shirley was a Nanny, Montessori Teacher, Nursery Manager, Area Manager for a small group of Nursery Schools, prior to running her own Nursery.  Outside of Barfield, Shirley enjoys reading, walking, art, natural world, and most of all being by the sea at every available opportunity.


Prep Teacher - Mrs Katie Birkbeck

Qualification - BA (Hons), PGCE

 katie.birkbeck@barfieldschool.com

Katie joined the Barfield family in 2017, as a Prep Teacher.  Katie teaches Humanies and English in Years 3 - 5, along with managing the Year 5 English Speaking Board Examinations.  Prior to working at Barfield, Katie did a number of roles prior to completing her PGCE at Kingston University.  She then taught in a number of schools in Surrey, Wales and most recently in Brunei.  Outside of school, Katie loves spending time with her family and friends, walking the family dog and going on holiday.


Pre-Prep Music Teacher - Mrs Claire Cobb

Qualification - BA (Hons), PGCE

 claire.cobb@barfieldschool.com

Claire joined the Barfield family in 2017 teaching Music on a temporary basis, but after three years she is now a permanent member of staff, teaching Music in the Nursery and Pre-Prep.  Alongside Barfield Claire also teaches Music regularly at a local state school, and undertakes supply work at other local schools.  As you can imagine music is one of her main passions outside of school, where she belongs to a Community Choir.  Claire has enjoyed being involved with the Farnham Music Festival for a number of years.  Claire's other hobbies include running, taking the family Cockapoo Ozzie on long walks and bee keeping.


Nursery Key Person - Miss Sam Cox

Qualification - Level 4

 sam.cox@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Nursery Key Person - Mrs Ana Gibbons

Qualification - Level 3

 ana.gibbons@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Teaching Assistant - Mrs Wendy Gibling

Qualification - Level 3

 wendy.gibling@barfieldschool.com

Wendy joined the Barfield Family in 2003, initially supporting Mr Taylor with the teaching of Pre-Prep Sport and Girls Games. Throughout her time with us, Wendy has enjoyed working as a Teaching Assistant in a wide range of year groups from Owlets to Year 2 and has more recently found her home in Reception. Married to Mr Gibling, it will come as no surprise that she can often be found supporting the children on holiday camps, night camps and residential trips. Prior to working at Barfield, Wendy lived and worked in France for 4 years at an activity and ski resort. Outside of school life, she can often be seen running, biking or walking her dog in the surrounding areas as she loves to keep fit. Her biggest passion are obstacles races and muddy runs, qualifying 2 years in a row for the European Championships.


Pre-Prep Teacher - Mrs Emma Johnson

Qualification - BEd (Hons)

 emma.johnson@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Pre-Prep Teacher - Mrs Stephanie Knight

Qualification - BA (Ed), QTS

 stephanie.knight@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Pre-Prep Teacher - Mrs Melanie Lewin

Qualification - BMus (Hons), PGCE

 melanie.lewin@barfieldschool.com

Mel joined the Barfield Family in 2002 and has enjoyed being a Form Teacher to our youngest children, most recently enjoying her time in Reception. She loves nothing more than combining her two main passions of teaching and music, previously having lived in New Zealand teaching Preschool music groups, in addition to being a qualified peripatetic woodwind teacher. It will come as no great surprise that, outside of school, Mel is a member of the Surrey Hills Chamber Choir and also enjoys playing the Oboe.


Owlets M Room Lead - Miss Sarah Marshall

Qualification - Level 3

 sarah.marshall@barfieldschool.com


Nursery Key Person - Mrs Adriana Morgan

Qualification - Level 3

 adriana.morgan@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Pre-Prep Teacher - Miss Sophie Murray

Qualification - BA (Hons), QTS

 sophie.murray@barfieldschool.com

Sophie joined the Barfield family in 2018, working as a part time Form Teacher in Year 1 and Year 2.  Sophie assists in the Nursery during the holidays, as has taught French in the Pre-Prep.  Prior to joining Barfield she worked as a Nanny and held various roles in Nursery and EYFS settings.  She has taught in Years 3 and 5, along with working in an International School whilst she completed her degree.  Outside of Barfield, Sophie enjoys socialising, travelling, exploring new places and visiting her father in New York.  She recently became a Aunty.


Teaching Assistant - Mrs Debra Norman

 debra.norman@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Nursery Assistant - Ms Sandra Pharo

Qualification - Level 3

 sandra.pharo@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Prep Teacher - Mrs Samantha Phillips

Qualification - BEd (Hons)

 samantha.phillips@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Nursery Key Person - Mrs Natalie Ryland

Qualification - Level 3

 natalie.ryland@barfieldschool.com

Natalie joined the Barfield family in 2019 as a Key Person in Owlets.  Prior to Barfield, Natalie worked as a Classroom Assistant from 2007, whilst training as a HLTA to enable her to teach classes from Nursery to Year 6.  Outside of Barfield, Natalie enjoys cycling, and is regularly seen cycling to and from work.  Natalie also enjoys camping with the family, making things, knitting, going for long walks or relaxing with a good book.  


Deputy Nursery Manager - Miss Olivia Shirley

Qualification - Level 3

 olivia.shirley@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Pre-Prep Teacher - Miss Gemma Smith

Qualification - BA (Hons), PGCE

 gemma.smith@barfieldschool.com

Gemma joined the Barfield Family in February 2020, as a maternity cover for Mrs Wright, and has already  been on a fantastic journey - teaching an enriching curriculum to the year one class both remotely and within the school. The way in which she managed the maternity transition was outstanding and we are incredibly lucky to have her! As a Newly Qualified Teacher, Gemma brings a wealth of current and exciting practices to the classroom. During her training period, she has been fortunate to have experienced teaching each year group from reception through to year six, with her heart being with the EYFS and KS1. Prior to teaching at primary level, she taught Drama to children as an extra activity and performed outreach work in the community. She also has valuable experience of working at an outstanding specialist school for children and young adults with learning difficulties. In her free time, she loves exploring the world and enjoying new experiences. Last summer she walked the Camino de Santiago and this summer she decided to get a puppy!


Nursery Key Person - Mrs Tomoko Sucharov

Qualification - Level 3

 tomoko.sucharov@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Language Teacher - Ms Sharon Taylor

Qualification - BA (Hons), MA, PGCE, MIL

 sharon.taylor@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Teaching Assistant - Mrs Sam Wake

Qualification - Level 2, SPLD, Level 3

 sam.wake@barfieldschool.com

Sam joined the Barfield Family in 2013 and began her time with us as a Teaching Assistant in Reception. In 2017, she enjoyed gaining experience in the Learning Support Department, working alongside our SENco in delivering intervention groups throughout the Pre-Prep and EYFS. Sam has most recently been a Teaching Assistant in Year 1 and loves supporting some of our youngest children. Prior to joining Barfield, she spent 13 years in a Nursery setting and enjoyed being SENco support for 3 independent nurseries. Outside of work, Sam can often be seen pounding the streets alongside Mrs Gibling or taking things a little bit slower in a Yoga Class. 


Pre-Prep Teacher - Mrs Sophie Wright

Qualification - BA (Hons), PGCE

 sophie.wright@barfieldschool.com

Sophie joined the Barfield Family in 2017 and began her journey as a Reception Form Teacher. Over the past 2 years, she has been inspiring our children in Year 1 and absolutely loves supporting the academic and emotional needs of some of our smallest boys and girls. Before joining Barfield, Sophie worked in a local village school in Tilford, where she taught in Reception for 5 years. Sophie went on Maternity Leave in February and was soon joined by her baby boy, Louis. She cannot wait to introduce him to the Barfield Family and we cannot wait to give him a proper welcome too. If the chance arises, Sophie enjoys a game of tennis with her husband or a lovely long walk, never forgetting to stop for coffee and cake. We thoroughly look forward to welcoming Sophie back in February 2021.

Administrative Staff

Accounts Clerk - Mrs Julie Booker

 julie.booker@barfieldschool.com

Julie joined the Barfield family in 2016, as the Accounts Clerk.  During her working day Julie deals with fee invoices, childcare vouchers, Three Peaks invoicing and any other general financial matters.  Prior to joining Barfield, Julie worked for an accountancy firm running a payroll bureau.  Outside of Barfield, Julie enjoys her Arts and Crafts, especially Indian Block printing and Book Binding.  Recently she set up her own online business offering workshops and selling her amazing creations.

 


Receptionist/Office Admin. - Mrs Joanne Spooner

 admin@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Registrar/Admissions Clerk - Mrs Victoria Morris

 victoria.morris@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Marketing Manager - Mrs Cal Bull-Edwards

 cal.bulledwards@barfieldschool.com

Housekeeping

Domestic Bursar - Mrs Jenny Hughes

 jenny.hughes@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Kitchen Manager - Mrs Charlotte Large

 charlotte.large@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Chef - Mrs Alison Ashton

 alison.ashton@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Catering Assistant - Mrs Corinne Nevitt

 corrine.nevitt@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Catering Assistant - Miss Krystal Large

 krystal.large@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Catering Assistant - Mrs Annie Tarrant

 annie.tarrant@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Evening Cleaner Supervisor - Mr Dominik Dwojacki

 dominik.dwojacki@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Evening Cleaner - Mrs Jolanta Dwojacka

 jolanta.dwojacka@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Evening Cleaner - Mrs Sharon Stoner

 sharon.stoner@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Evening Cleaner - Ms Carol Thorne

 carol.thorne@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Evening Cleaner - Miss Linda Thorne

 linda.thorne@barfieldschool.com

 

 

Maintenance

Maintenance Manager - Mr Cliff Dean

 cliff.dean@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Maintenance Assistant - Mr Nick Matthew

 nick.matthew@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Gardener - Mr Roy Tinsey

 roy.tinsey@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

Three-Peaks Outdoor Pursuits Team 

Three Peaks Manager - Mr Karl Gibling

 karl.gibling@barfieldschool.com

Karl joined the Barfield family in 2001, as Manager of Three Peaks.  Along with this role Karl is the schools Health and Safety advisor and assists with sports lessons.  The most recent addition to his role is Manager of the Grounds Team.  Prior to joining Barfield, Karl was in the Army as a Royal Engineer, before moving to Head of Climbing at an Adventure Company in the South of France, along with being a Ski Guide in the winter season.  Outside of School, Karl enjoys spending time with his family, cycling, skiing and outdoor adventure sports including OCR races.


Three Peaks Assistant Manager - Mr Mark Gore

 mark.gore@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Three Peaks Assistant - Mr Silas Caie

 silas.caie@barfieldschool.com

 

 

 

 


Three Peaks Assistant - Mr Alex Kitney

 alex.kitney@barfieldschool.com