Skip to content ↓

Barfield School

An Independent Preparatory School for Girls and Boys


“We are thrilled with how much our son has developed over the term and how well the staff know the children.” Parent

Barfield School is very proud of the unique partnership that exists between staff, children and parents and we consider ourselves to be fortunate in having dedicated, enthusiastic, loyal and well-qualified teachers in both the Pre-Prep and Prep.

Mr James Reid is Headmaster of the school with Miss Cathy Anderson as Deputy Head. They work closely with the Senior Management Team to ensure the smooth and effective running of the school.

In the Pre-Prep, class teachers are carefully chosen to provide academic, social and emotional support to the children. In the Prep, form tutors and heads of year provide pastoral support and academic matters are monitored by the subject teachers and heads of department.

Senior Management Team 


Mr James Reid


BEd (Hons)

Deputy Head 

Miss Cathy Anderson


BA (Hons) PGCE

Head of Pre-Prep

Mrs Cari Hookes-Gosney


BA (Hons) Primary

Director of Studies

Mrs Christina Tupper


BA (Hons) PGCE


Finance Bursar

Mrs Anne Blacklock




Heads of Department 

Dept Name Qualification Email
Art Mrs Ali Lester BEd (Hons)
Boys’ Games Mr Ray Taylor, AIST
DT Mr Steve Hollands BSc (Hons) DipDesInn, PGCE
English Mrs Lynn Pryce BEd (Hons)
French Mr John Milne MA
Girls’ Games Mrs Ros Milton BA (Hons), PGCE
Humanities Miss Elizabeth Trevett BSc (Hons), PGCE
ICT Mrs Victoria Long BA (Hons), PGCE
Learning Support Mrs Ann Gontier MBA, Dip OCR (SpLD)
Mathematics Mr James Reid BEd (Hons)
Music Ms Melissa Lynch BA MusEd
Nursery Manager Miss Sarah Marshall Level 3
Acting Nursery Manager Mrs Jo King NNEB
PSHE Miss Cathy Anderson BA(Hons), PGCE
Science Mrs Christina Tupper BA (Hons), PGCE

Teaching Staff 

Name Qualification Email
Miss Angie Ainge NNEB
Mrs Sandy Bishop Level 3, Elklan S & L Level 3
Mrs Katie Birkbeck BA (Hons) PGCE

Mrs Helen Brown BA (Hons) Primary Ed
Mrs Claire Cobb BA (Hons) PGCE
Mrs Suzanne Dewar
Mrs Karen Dixon Level 3
Miss Rachel Forder BA (Hons)
Mrs Wendy Gibling Level 3
Mrs Emma Johnson BEd (Hons)
Mrs Jo King NNEB
Mrs Stephanie Knight BA(Ed), QTS
Mrs Melanie Lewin BMus (Hons), PGCE
Mrs Adrianna Morgan Level 3
Mrs Debra Norman
Miss Sophie Robinson BA (Hons) PGCE
Miss Olivia Shirley Level 3
Miss Jacquie Shirreffs BA (Hons), Level 3
Mrs Tomoko Sucharov Level 3
Mrs Sam Wake Level 2, SPLD Level 3
Mrs Sarah White Level 3

Administrative Staff 

Name Position Email
Mrs Julie Booker Accounts Clerk

Mrs Leanne Baddeley Higher Diploma of Education

Receptionist/Office Administrator
Mrs Carrie Dawson Office Administrator/Admissions
Mrs Sarah Grantham
BSc (Hons)
 Administration & HR Manager
Mrs Jenny Henman General Assistant
Mrs Deborah May
BSc (Hons)
Marketing & Admissions Manager


Mrs. Jenny Hughes
Domestic Bursar

Mrs Alison Ashton
Ms Lolita Cant                                  Mr Dominik Dwojacki
Mrs Jolanta Dwojacka

Mrs Janice Green                      Miss Fatima Marques
Ms Sandra Pharo
Mrs Sharon Stoner
Ms Carol Thorne


Mr Cliff Dean
Maintenance Manager

Mr Roy Tinsey

Three-Peaks Outdoor Pursuits Team 

Name Position Email
Mr Karl Gibling Manager
Mr Mark Gore Assistant Manager
Mr Ray Taylor AIST
Miss Olivia Gardiner Assistant  
Mr Silas Caie Assistant  
Mr Fraser Simpson Assistant