Skip to content ↓

Barfield School

An Independent Preparatory School for Girls and Boys

Staff

“We are thrilled with how much our son has developed over the term and how well the staff know the children.” Parent

Barfield School is very proud of the unique partnership that exists between staff, children and parents and we consider ourselves to be fortunate in having dedicated, enthusiastic, loyal and well-qualified teachers in both the Pre-Prep and Prep.

Mr James Reid is Headmaster of the school with Miss Cathy Anderson as Deputy Head. They work closely with the Senior Management Team to ensure the smooth and effective running of the school.

In the Pre-Prep, class teachers are carefully chosen to provide academic, social and emotional support to the children. In the Prep, form tutors and heads of year provide pastoral support and academic matters are monitored by the subject teachers and heads of department.

Senior Management Team 

Headmaster

Mr James Reid

Qualification

BEd (Hons)

  james.reid@barfieldschool.com

Deputy Head 

Miss Cathy Anderson

Qualification

BA (Hons) PGCE

  cathy.anderson@barfieldschool.com

Head of Pre-Prep

Mrs Cari Hookes-Gosney

Qualification

BA (Hons) Primary

  carolyn.hookesgosney@barfieldschool.com

Director of Studies

Mrs Christina Tupper

Qualification

BA (Hons) PGCE

  christina.tupper@barfieldschool.com


 

Finance Bursar

Mrs Anne Blacklock

Qualification

MAAT

  anne.blacklock@barfieldschool.com

 

Heads of Department 

Dept Name Qualification Email
Art Mrs Ali Lester BEd (Hons)   ali.lester@barfieldschool.com
Boys’ Games Mr Ray Taylor, AIST   ray.taylor@barfieldschool.com
DT Mr Steve Hollands BSc (Hons) DipDesInn, PGCE   steve.hollands@barfieldschool.com
English Mrs Lynn Pryce BEd (Hons)   lynn.pryce@barfieldschool.com
French Mr John Milne MA   john.milne@barfieldschool.com
Girls’ Games Mrs Ros Milton BA (Hons), PGCE   ros.milton@barfieldschool.com
Humanities Miss Elizabeth Trevett BSc (Hons), PGCE   elizabeth.trevett@barfieldschool.com
ICT Miss Victoria Astor BA (Hons), PGCE   victoria.astor@barfieldschool.com
Learning Support Mrs Ann Gontier MBA, Dip OCR (SpLD)   ann.gontier@barfieldschool.com
Mathematics Mr James Reid BEd (Hons)   james.reid@barfieldschool.com
Music Ms Melissa Lynch BA MusEd   melissa.lynch@barfieldschool.com
Nursery Manager Miss Sarah Marshall Level 3   sarah.marshall@barfieldschool.com
Acting Nursery Manager Mrs Jo King NNEB    joanna.king@barfieldschool.com
PSHE Miss Cathy Anderson BA(Hons), PGCE   cathy.anderson@barfieldschool.com
Science Mrs Christina Tupper BA (Hons), PGCE   christina.tupper@barfieldschool.com

Teaching Staff 

Name Qualification Email
Miss Angie Ainge NNEB   angie.ainge@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Sandy Bishop Level 3   sandy.bishop@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Alexandra Bouckley BA (Hons) Primary Ed   alex.bouckley@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Helen Brown BA (Hons) Primary Ed   helen.brown@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Claire Cobb BA (Hons) PGCE   claire.cobb@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Karen Dixon Level 3   karen.dixon@barfieldschool.com
Miss Rachel Forder BA (Hons)   rachel.forder@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Wendy Gibling Level 3   wendy.gibling@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Emma Johnson BEd (Hons)   emma.johnson@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Jo King NNEB   joanne.king@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Stephanie Knight BA(Ed), QTS   stephanie.knight@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Melanie Lewin BMus (Hons), PGCE   melanie.lewin@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Adrianna Morgan Level 3   adrianna.morgan@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Debra Norman     debra.norman@barfieldschool.com
Miss Sophie Robinson BA (Hons) PGCE   sophie.robinson@barfieldschool.com
Miss Olivia Shirley Level 3   olivia.shirley@barfieldschool.com
Mr Richard Stevens PGCE   richard.stevens@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Tomoko Sucharov Level 3   tomoko.sucharov@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Sam Wake Level 2   samantha.wake@barfieldschool.com

Administrative Staff 

Name Position Email
Mrs Julie Booker Accounts Clerk   julie.booker@barfieldschool.com

Mrs Leanne Baddeley Higher Diploma of Education

Receptionist/Office Administrator   admin@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Carrie Dawson Office Administrator/Admissions   carrie.dawson@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Sarah Grantham
BSc (Hons)
 Administration & HR Manager   sarah.grantham@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Jenny Henman General Assistant   jenny.henman@barfieldschool.com
Mrs Deborah May
BSc (Hons)
Marketing & Admissions Manager   deborah.may@barfieldschool.com

Housekeeping 

Mrs. Jenny Hughes
Domestic Bursar

jenny.hughes@barfieldschool.com

Mrs Alison Ashton
Ms Lolita Cant                                  Mr Dominik Dwojacki
Mrs Jolanta Dwojacka
 

Mrs Janice Green                      Miss Fatima Marques
Ms Sandra Pharo
Mrs Sharon Stoner
Ms Carol Thorne

Maintenance 

Mr Cliff Dean
Maintenance Manager

  cliff.dean@barfieldschool.com

Mr Kevin Dean

Three-Peaks Outdoor Pursuits Team 

Name Position Email
Mr Karl Gibling Manager   karl.gibling@barfieldschool.com
Mr Mark Gore Assistant Manager   mark.gore@barfieldschool.com
Mr Ray Taylor AIST   ray.taylor@barfieldschool.com
Miss Olivia Gardiner Assistant  
Mr Silas Caie Assistant  
Mr Fraser Simpson Assistant